Bret Davis Re-elected to ASA Governing Committee

Bret Davis, Ohio soybean farmer from Delaware County was recently re-elected to the American Soybean Association (ASA) governing committee.


Davis is part of a nine-member governing committee that will help guide ASA and implement the policies aligned in the strategic plan. Davis is joined by Secretary John Heisdorffer from Keota, Iowa; and Kevin Hoyer of West Salem, Wisc., Kevin Scott of Valley Springs, S.D., and Sam Butler of New Hope, Ala.. Current Treasurer Davie Stephens of Wingo, Ky., was elected to serve a second term in the same position.


In addition to his role on ASA, Davis serves on both the Ohio Soybean Council and Ohio Soybean Association Board of Trustees. Davis holds a designation as a Certified Crop Advisor and is a past president of both the FSA Board and the Delaware County Farm Bureau. He was a member of the FFA and earned his American FFA Degree.


Richard Wilkins, a farmer from Greenwood, Del., assumes the role of president of ASA following his confirmation by the ASA Board of Directors at their annual winter meeting in St. Louis. Outgoing president Wade Cowan from Brownfield, Texas, moves to the position of chairman of the ASA board, and Ron Moore of Roseville, Ill., was elected to serve as vice president.


“I’m honored to serve as president of this wonderful team of farmers, and I’m excited to move forward with what is a very full agenda for the year,” said Wilkins. Assuming positions on the Board as new members at the meeting are Charles Atkinson of Kansas, Cliff Barron of South Carolina, Ken Boswell of Nebraska, and Dean Coleman of Iowa.