Ohio Soybean Farmers Recognized as National Leaders

December 12, 2017 Ohio Soybean Association

While one Ohio soybean farmer became immediate-past Chairman of the United Soybean Board (USB) last week, another was elected to the Governing Committee of the American Soybean Association (ASA).

Ohio Soybean Association and ASA board member, Bret Davis, of Delaware County was elected during the December board meeting to the ASA Governing Committee. This committee is responsible for guiding ASA and implementing policies that align with the organization’s strategic plan. This is Davis’ third term on the nine-member leadership team.

This week also marked the end of Hancock County soybean farmer John Motter’s term as USB Chairman. Motter was elected exactly one year ago as the 26th chairman in the organization’s history and the first Ohioan to hold the position. During his tenure, Motter has led USB forward on multiple programs and strategic directions, as well as leading the search for a new CEO.

“The Ohio Soybean Association and Ohio Soybean Council are proud that such capable leaders have been able to serve our state and all U.S. soybean farmers at the national level,” said Kirk Merritt, OSA and OSC executive director. “We thank John for volunteering so much of his time and energy, and will work to support Bret as he serves his 2018 term with ASA leadership.”