John Motter Elected Vice Chair of USB

December 18, 2015 Ohio Soybean Council

The United Soybean Board (USB) recently elected executive committee members to lead the national soybean checkoff in 2016. John Motter, Ohio soybean farmer and Ohio Soybean Council (OSC) board member from Hancock County was elected as Vice Chair.

USB consists of 70 farmer-directors that oversee the investments of the national soybean checkoff to maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds to increase the value of U.S. soybean meal and oil, ensure U.S. soybean farmers and their customers have the freedom and infrastructure to operate, and meet the needs of U.S. soybeans’s customers.

Prior to being elected as Vice Chair, Motter served as the treasurer for USB. In addition to his involvement with USB and OSC, John is a member of Ohio Farm Bureau and previously served on the State Extension Advisory Board. John has held office on the Hancock County Fair Board and is a member and elder of the Emmanuel United Church of Christ.

Motter will work alongside Jared Hagert, soybean farmer from Emerado, North Dakota who has been elected by his fellow USB farmer-directors as chair. USB will implement new long-range strategic plan, which emphasizes soybean innovation for farmer profit opportunities, including continued high oleic development, soybean-meal-quality improvements and technological advances to maximize on-farm profitability.

Article Tags: OSC Press Release