

Contact: Jennifer Coleman

Ohio Soybean Association

614.476.3100

jcoleman@soyohio.org

## **NEWS RELEASE**

January 6, 2015

# 2014 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest Winners Announced

WORTHINGTON, Ohio – The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) is proud to announce the winners of the 2014 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest. This is the fifth year for the statewide contest with a total of 45 applicants.

There were four different yield categories available and the quality portion of the contest was based on highest percentages of oil and protein.

"Congratulations to this year's Yield and Quality Contest winners," said Tommie Price, OSA President and soybean farmer from Putnam County. "Every year, entrants reinforce how outstanding Ohio soybean farmers are at producing high soybean yields and high quality soybeans."

The 2014 Overall State Yield Champion was Don Jackson of Preble County who recorded a yield of 86.1 bushes/acre with the Seed Consultants 9363 variety.

The complete list of yield and quality winners is below:

#### **Yield Results**

Conventional Tillage	Yield (bu./acre)	Variety
<ol> <li>Don Jackson (Preble County)</li> </ol>	86.1	Seed Consultants 9363
2. Andrew Baltes, Jr. (Mahoning Co	unty) 72.74	NuTech 7273
3. Bob Short (Miami County)	72	Asgrow 3832
A. (1)	V. 11 (1 )	
No-till	Yield (bu./acre)	Variety
<ol> <li>Dan Uetrecht (Warren County)</li> </ol>	84.8	Mycogen 5N342
2. Jason Groselle (Portage County)	83.3	Pioneer P32T25 R2
<ol><li>Doug Swaim (Greene County)</li></ol>	81.1	Asgrow 3533
Non-GMO – No-till	Yield (bu./acre)	Variety
<ol> <li>Tom Schuffenecker (Ottawa Cour</li> </ol>	nty) 68.24	Beck 295



## **Quality Results**

Highest Percentage Protein Content	Percentage	Variety
Joshua Yoder (Logan County)	37.1%	Pioneer P32T80PR
2. Andrew Baltes (Mahoning County)	36.6%	Asgrow 3034RR2
3. Jason Groselle (Portage County)	36.2%	Pioneer P32T25R2
Highest Percentage Oil Content	Percentage	Variety
<ol> <li>Andrew Baltes Jr. (Mahoning County)</li> </ol>	20.1%	NuTech 7273
2. Jack Groselle (Portage County)	19.2%	Pioneer P24T19R
<ol><li>Joshua Yoder(Logan County)</li></ol>	18.8%	Pioneer P32T80PR

OSA would like to thank Asgrow, Beck's Hybrids, Channel, CROPLAN, LG Seeds, Ohio AgNet, Ohio's Country Journal, Ohio Soybean Council, R Farm Seeds, Rupp Seeds, Seed Consultants, Shur Grow, Stewart Seeds, Stine Seed Company and Monsanto for sponsoring the 2014 contest.

To learn more about the Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest, visit www.soyohio.org/yieldcontest.

### **About OSA**

The Ohio Soybean Association is governed by a volunteer farmer board dedicated to education and promotion, as well as to uniting producer interest through support of legislative activities beneficial to the Ohio soybean industry.