May 2, 2014

Across Ohio, weeds are attempting to make their home in soybean farmer’s fields. Weeds that were once easily managed by herbicides such as glyphosate are showing resistance, calling for farmers to implement more diverse and stringent control methods. Even if farmers have not experienced this problem in their fields yet, proper management of marestail, giant ragweed, common ragweed, waterhemp, Palmer amaranth and other herbicide-resistant species is important to avoiding these challenges. According to a recent… Read More

May 1, 2014

The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) announces the launch of the state’s fifth Soybean Yield and Quality Contest for the 2014 growing season. Contestants must be current members of OSA and raise at least 10 acres of soybeans in Ohio. Those who are not currently OSA members may join when entering the contest. The entry fee is $100 and entrants may submit multiple entries. The following seed companies have agreed to pay the… Read More

April 23, 2014

The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) recently recognized Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-OH) and Rep. Bob Gibbs (R-OH) as OSA Legislators of the Year. OSA awards this distinction to a legislator or legislators who have shown a tremendous contribution to the success of the Ohio soybean industry. Brown and Gibbs both played critical roles in the passage of the farm bill in early 2014 as both men served on their respective chambers’ Agriculture Committee. Thanks to their… Read More

April 11, 2014

The Ohio House of Representative approved Senate Bill 150 (SB 150) today, a bill which will now require one farmer per farm operation to be certified to apply fertilizer. “The Ohio Soybean Association (OSA) and the Ohio Corn & Wheat Growers Association (OCWGA) have always taken the quality of Ohio’s water very seriously,” said Brent Hostetler, OCWGA president and Madison County farmer. “Both organizations have worked together through the entire process of this bill to… Read More

March 31, 2014

WORTHINGTON, Ohio-The Ohio Soybean Council Foundation (OSCF) is pleased to announce the scholarship recipients for the 2014-2015 academic year. Undergraduate scholarships of $3,000 each was awarded to Jordan Bonham, Sarah Peterson, Stacie Seger, Summer McCracken, Kelly Fager and Emily Limes. The fourth annual $3,000 Farmer, Lumpe + McClelland (FLM) Scholarship, awarded to a student in the field of agriculture communications or business, was awarded to Meghan Bennett. The annual $5,000 Bhima Vijayendran… Read More